The question is…

The question is where in the world is Cheri?

My final answer at this point in my journey is Kansas, USA.

There is of course a really good story to go with this that I will write… just as soon as I catch up on what it means to be back in Kansas. It was official on December 23rd, without a lot of prior understanding of what was about to happen.  Phone calls happened. Chats were had.  Ideas were tossed around. Questions were asked.  Now here I am.  Wood burning stove included!

My thought, if we’re honest: is when recently in my life when a big change was coming did have I had a lot of warning of what was about to happen?  Often the lead-up is there, but then it all just happens with a loud HERE YA GO!  Some would say they could have told me a move was happening. The only thought I have to that is: I smile because I have such great friends.

Because my faith is in a God who I believe created me to be who I am (and I’m learning a lot about the me in me), as well as this universe that I live in, I’m a really firm believer that He works out the details when we pay attention and listen (red skillet, pocket knives, and all). He sees our hearts and hears our thoughts because that’s what a true father does.  As the details worked out and people came across my pathway in ways that really couldn’t be explained; the best thing to do was to pay attention, listen and to be willing for anything.  So here I am.

Until the stories appear to share what happened, rest assured my coffee paraphernalia is slowing appearing.  I’m back at Camp Wood YMCA in Elmdale, KS.  (YEP!) I’ll continue to be involved on an international level in the same things I have been doing; it will just look differently. I’ll be back in the southern part of Africa in April to help with the training I am committed to see through (and am very excited to see what is going to happen as we team train). I’ll continue to help get this Youth Sport Leadership Development curriculum in motion…that we kicked off in November!  Everybody say WooHoo!

My commitment is to enjoy what  I do everywhere I go.  We have a great team here.  I will and I do miss my life in Africa and my incredible friends there in a way I cannot even explain.  Outside of that piece, I am excited to be able to have some time to input into the world of youth in the states and the YMCA movement.  It’s been fun connecting with friends here. I don’t really know how this will look, but maybe that’s the fun part of the adventure to uncover.  Details are coming… Thanks for sticking by me!

photo(8)-001

 

 

 

 

coffee is waiting…come visit!

About cherishaver

Living in southern Africa, serving kids, youth, leaders, and anyone who wants to use sports, games and other tools to positively make a difference in the lives of kids and youth. Helping others develop and mentor kids and youth into who God designed them to be, using the gifts and skills He gave them - to be - a light into the world...
This entry was posted in The latest happenings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment